A few new names, but only 1 seat changes color in the Ottawa area

Following a summer campaign during a continuing pandemic, much of the political landscape resembles the same in the Ottawa-Gatineau area, with both the Left and Conservatives retaining the seats they won in the last election — with one exception.

The Liberal Party sends 13 members of parliament to Parliament and the Conservatives, seven. The region had 14 Liberal MPs, five Conservatives and Conservatives, who became independent Derek Sloan when the election was called.

There are five new faces among this group of 20 coming out of the 2021 vote and into a liberal minority government.

A newcomer to federal politics is Liberal Yasir Naqvi, who will replace former Liberal Cabinet Minister Catherine McKenna at the Ottawa Center.

Naqvi has already represented riding at the provincial level, having held the job as MPP and a few cabinet roles from 2007 to 2018.

On Monday night, Naqvi was asked if he was hoping for a cabinet post in Justin Trudeau’s next government.

“What I wanted was to be an Ottawa Center MP,” Naqvi replied. “That’s the job I’ve earned, and I’m looking forward to serving the people of the Ottawa Center.”

Another politician changing government levels is Jenna Sudds, who is moving from Ottawa City Councilor Kanata North to Liberal MP-elect in Kanata-Carleton.

Fortresses contained

After seven undefeated election campaigns, Pierre Poilievre once again has Carleton, the only conservative seat in the country’s capital.

“Seventeen years ago, this community took a risk on a 25-year-old child with a funny last name that no one could pronounce … to make me their Member of Parliament,” Poilievre told supporters at his election party.

SE | Pierre Poilievre wins again:

Pierre Poilievre re-elected in Carleton

Conservative Pierre Poilievre has been selected in Ottawa’s Carleton riding for the seventh time in a row. 0:33

In Orléans, riding remains liberal with Marie-France Lalonde. Liberal Mona Fortier holds her seat in Ottawa-Vanier.

Anita Vandenbeld is returning as a Member of Parliament for Ottawa West-Nepean and after 16 years in Parliament, David McGuinty will continue to represent the Left in Ottawa-South.

Despite opposition to his campaign from a Punjabi community association, Liberal Chandra Arya won the day and will continue to represent the people of Nepean.

In western Quebec, liberals Greg Fergus of Hull-Aylmer and Steve MacKinnon of Gatineau will retain their seats.

“I feel a little relieved,” Fergus said after the results came in Monday night. “Every time you go in front of people, it’s another job interview.”

SE | Greg Fergus returns:

Liberal Greg Fergus re-elected to Hull-Aylmer

Greg Fergus said he was relieved to be re-elected in riding, which he first won in 2015. 0:53

Pontiac also remains liberal with newcomer Sophie Chatel replacing former MP Will Amos. Chatel says she has already had initial talks with the boss of Kitigan Zibi about the need for clean water in that part of the ride.

“It’s listening to their needs, and then I can see how I can help the most. It’s a priority. It’s a government priority. It’s a community priority,” Chatel told reporters Monday night.

Argenteuil-La-Petite-Nation Liberal MP Stéphane Lauzon once again faced a strong Bloc Québécois challenge in returning to Parliament.

Conservatives occupy Bay of Quinte

Liberals Francis Drouin and Mark Gerretsen were re-elected in Glengarry-Prescott-Russell and Kingston and Islands, respectively, but all other clearings in eastern Ontario went back to conservatives.

Liberal MP Neil Ellis, a former Belleville mayor, lost his seat to former Belleville City Councilman Ryan Williams from the Conservatives.

Conservative Shelby Kramp-Neuman becomes the new Hastings-Lennox and Addington MP, replacing former MP Derek Sloan and hitting a field that included his wife Jennifer Sloan.

Longtime Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke Conservative MP Cheryl Gallant returns to her seat, as does Conservative colleague Scott Reid of Lanark-Frontenac-Kingston, both of whom were first elected as part of the Canadian Alliance in 2000.

In Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry, conservative Eric Duncan has held on to his seat, as have conservative Michael Barrett in Leeds-Grenville-Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes.

Leave a Comment