Steven Marshall confident successor can reverse Liberal fortunes as party set to elect new leader

Former South Australian Prime Minister Steven Marshall has defended his political legacy as he prepares to relinquish the role of state Liberal leader at a partyroom meeting today.

Mr Marshall has maintained a low public profile since last month’s election defeat to Labor, but this morning issued words of encouragement to parliamentary colleagues as they get ready to anoint a successor.

Former environment minister David Speirs, ex-speaker Josh Teague and south-east MP Nick McBride are all expected to contest today’s ballot to replace Mr Marshall.

John Gardner, Vincent Tarzia and Tim Whetstone have been mooted as potential deputy leaders.

Mr Marshall acceded to the Liberal leadership in 2013, replacing Isobel Redmond.

He announced his intention to quit the role the day after the recent March 19 poll.

Leave a Comment